At long last, a UST Alumni Australia (USTAA) has been established.

Inspired by Philippine Ambassador to Australia, H.E. Ma. Hellen B. De La Vega, a Thomasian herself, the USTAA, the wheels were set in motion.  

A group of enthusiastic Thomasians gathered first on 6 October and unanimously agreed to form an alumni association to honour their beloved alma mater, UST. Elections followed on the 17th November, 2021 and elected to office are: Ms. Benjie de Ubago (President), Vangie Leones (Secretary), Tess Sayas (Treasurer), Albert Prias (PRO) and Rosemarie Hamilton (Auditor). To reach out to Thomasians throughout Australia, a Vice President was elected to represent each Australian State and Territory: Dr. Myrna Jover (NSW), Cecilia Flores (ACT), Teresa Cardona (QLD), Marina Ruivivar (VIC) and Cielo Franklin (WA).  VP seats for South Australia, Tasmania and Northern Territory have yet to be filled. Kate Andres is the association’s adviser.

This set of officers, better known as Team 21 - a dynamic group of individuals, all living by UST’s core values. They all are competent professionals, multi-awardees, committed to serve, and compassionate.

(L-R)  Kate Andres, Benjie de Ubago, Albert Prias, Myrna Jover, Ambassador De La Vega, Tess Sayas, Cecilia Flores, Volet Carona, Rowena Sierra (Phil Embassy) and Father Loi Viovicente.

The official launch and induction of Officers was held on 6 December 2021 at the Philippine Embassy, Canberra with HE Hellen B. De La Vega, Philippine Ambassador as the guest of honour. Ms. Evelyn Songco, President of UST Alumni Association, Philippines was also a special guest, via zoom.


Leave a Comment

Word Count: 0